Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso is the place to be!

January 3, 2010

Hello friends!

I arrived safely to my final destination. It was a long long journey here, but I learned a lot! The weather here is wonderful, about 80’s. The Nehlsen family has been so welcoming to me! I’m very excited to learn from them over the next weeks that I’m here. A little side note, on all 3 plane rides I had no one sitting beside me…how cool of God to allow me space to relax! I’m ready for bed as it’s 9pm and my eye lids are closing often. Trying to soak everything in today so I didn’t take any pics. I’ll get some up soon. Thank you all for your prayers!
Be thankful for your wealth…you are far better off than so many people in the world.

Andrew

14 Responses to “Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso is the place to be!”

  1. Ben Framstad and Jill Moomaw would like to say: “Hello! Hope you’re doing well. Miss you here.”

    Allison Steiner would like to say:
    “80 degrees? Jealous!”

    Hey buddy glad you made it safely. Looking forward to seeing what you do for God and what God does through you.

    Ben, Jill, and Allison (after small groups let out tonight).

    Okay, we’re finally done with this extremely long comment.

    Oh, wait – did u eat emmu? i hope not;)

  2. Allison (Kaillie's Aunt Mimi) said

    Hi Andrew!

    We are so glad to hear you made it safely. It was great to see you New Year’s Eve before you left. Our prayers are with you for a safe and exciting journey these next 6 weeks. During our trip home to SC the girls yelled out every time we saw a Beetle Bug and said a prayer for you!

    ‘God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you…may have an abundance for every good work.’ 2 Corinthians 9:8

  3. Kim Nussbaum said

    Glad to hear you made it. I will pass the info along at work.
    Kim

  4. jessie said

    Maybe God thinks you stink and was doing everyone a favor! just kidding, have fun! i pray for you everyday before school.

  5. Praise the Lord, Andrew. I saw your mom and dad on Sunday. We are relieved you made it safe. We are so excited to read how God is clarifying where and what He wants you to do. Please post a couple of pictures. Thanks.

  6. Jeana said

    Andrew,
    We are so excited for you and this trip. I pray God will not only use you here, but disclose to you his next plan for you. I pray you will get to see god work in ways you’ve never dreamed!

    Jeana Harley

  7. Your Brother said

    Andrew,

    Thanks for updating us. Give us prayer requests as the days go by: for you, the Nehlsen’s, and the people.
    Love you brother! Enjoy the time…journal 🙂

  8. debby schrock said

    Yay Andrew! I’m glad you are experiencing great things! Our God is fantastic. I am thankful for smiles too! Unspoken love goes far with children and crosses all languages. Have a wonderful day… Mini-term is in full swing here and Megs goes back to IWU next Monday. Enjoy the warmth and Sunshine and don’t rub it in too much! Debby Schrock

  9. Allison (Kaillie's Aunt Mimi) said

    We are so glad to hear you made it safely. It was great to see you New Year’s Eve before you left. Our prayers are with you for a safe and exciting journey these next 6 weeks. During our trip home to SC the girls yelled out every time we saw a Beetle Bug and said a prayer for you!

    ‘God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you…may have an abundance for every good work.’ 2 Corinthians 9:8

  10. Kelly Williams said

    Your last sentence really hit home for me, reminded me of when I visited Nicaragua. “Be thankful for your wealth…you are far better off than so many people in the world.” Praying for you!

  11. Kaillie said

    Praying for you buddy! So glad you’re there safe!! And lucky duck… be VERY thankful for the space on the planes… it doesn’t happen very often. Keep smiling and loving on those kiddos!!!

  12. davej said

    dude, bro…this place has a rad name…a cool prophetic destiny for the land and people…

    “Burkina” may be translated, “men of integrity,” from the Moré language, and “Faso” means “father’s house” in Dioula.

    rock on, keep us posted…peace and love from the land of j^pan…davej and t

  13. Maddy Mann said

    Hey there!!! I def. miss you at work and I’m so glad to hear your plane landed safely…i was very worried ( i even had my mom worried, so she prayed for you too 🙂 lol). Oh and Ed, Jack, and I were singing in the quality lab and the song In the Air Tonight by Phil Collins came on and there was a drum solo and i went to do it and got all upset and they both looked at me weird and I go, ” Andrews not here to drum!!!!” ..so just thought I’d let you know your missed and that I cant wait to see pictures 🙂 Have loads of fun!!

Leave a comment