Back to school, back to school

January 14, 2010

Well this week I’ve helped Amy (my mom while here) in her classroom 3 days. She teaches 3rd grade and only has 8 students, which makes it easy to memorize names. Each student is from a different country, how cool is that! I was able to help with some science experiments, math, spelling, and read a story as well. It’s been fun being in a classroom again. One girl said I should become a teacher there cause she likes “guy teachers”.

On monday I got a djembe(african hand drum) lesson from a guy who plays professionally. It was very intense and tiring, but so fun. He doesn’t speak much English and I don’t know any French, but we were able to laugh, smile, and have fun through drum beats! He’s also having a djembe made for me to bring back. I’m very excited about that! πŸ™‚

Tomorrow afternoon the Nehlsen’s and I are heading 3 hours away to Nazinga. It’s a game(animal) park that is very popular. We’ll spend the night in huts there and explore saturday. I’ve heard from others that elephants are all over the place, so it should be a really cool time! I’ll have some up close pics to post. πŸ™‚

God has been so good! I’m not sure why God is choosing to use me, this world is so huge and God is in control of it all. I’m in awe of His love! πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Back to school, back to school”

  1. Mom said

    Great update! What neat experiences you are having!So excited for all of the ways God is using you! Can’t wait to hear about your weekend adventure and see pics!
    We love you and miss you but are happy to share you with the people of Burkina Faso! Praying for you dear son!

  2. Jillian Massoni said

    Wow Andrew! How exciting to teach small kids from all over the world! I can’t wait to see your new drum and hear how you play! What is the hottest temperature it’s been? You are missing out on some wonderful weather here in Ohio! I bet you are impacting so many lives while you are there and I’m excited to hear more about what God is doing in your life. I can’t imagine what a humbling experience this has got to be to see how other cultures live. I miss seeing you at church and I will chat with ya soon! Take care, God Bless and you are in my prayers. Jordan says hi and baby Andrew says lkdjglfjgfjkgkjiioej. Did you get that?
    Jillian πŸ™‚

Leave a comment